About Us

The Department of Art History and Archaeology is a community of scholars that prizes the richness of the humanities and fosters the study of art globally, chronologically, and thematically. Furthermore, it promotes flexibility of approach and method. The faculty encourages students, both undergraduates and graduates, to discover their own best voice.

The department embraces the study of cultures spanning Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas.

Department Information
Address: 1211B Parren J. Mitchell Art-Sociology Building
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742
Phone: (301) 405 1479
Fax: (301) 314 9652

Department Chair
Meredith J. Gill
1211B Parren J. Mitchell Art-Sociology Building
(301) 405 1481
mgill@umd.edu

Staff

Caroline Blevins
Academic Program Specialist
1211B Parren J. Mitchell Art-Sociology Building
(301) 405 1479
cblevins@umd.edu

Christian Cloke
Associate Director, Michelle Smith Collaboratory for Visual Culture
4205B Parren J. Mitchell Art-Sociology Building
(301) 405 7951
ccloke@umd.edu

Deborah Down
Graduate Secretary
4219 Parren J. Mitchell Art-Sociology Building
(301) 405 1487
ddown@umd.edu

Henry “Quint” Gregory
Director, Michelle Smith Collaboratory for Visual Culture
4213 Parren J. Mitchell Art-Sociology Building
(301) 405 3183
quint@umd.edu

Theresa Morse
Director, Finance and Administration
1211B Parren J. Mitchell Art-Sociology Building
(301) 405 1480
tmorse@umd.edu